Run-time Review: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2011)

One comment I’ve heard from some of my friends is that I tend to rant on. I’ve never been very good at short, concise answers. I’ve always had a need to justify and explain my preferences and opinions, mostly because I like knowing the whole story before making any conclusions, and I think that carries over into my writing style.

As such, I’ve come up with a new exercise to help me learn to zoom in on important points and make due with a limited amount of text to convey everything I need. This is Run-time Review, where I review films in as many words as the movie’s running time (according to IMDB). So without further ado, lets get started with the RR of:

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Running Time: 158 mins.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was a movie that had me on the fence. With the Swedish version only released in 2009, and Hollywood’s tendency to produce lackluster remakes, I had doubts, even with Fincher at the helm. At the film’s opening, an amazing Bond-like intro highlighted two of this movie’s strengths, Fincher’s penchant for amazing visuals and the scoring by Trent Reznor. The casting was great, the actors fit their roles well. Rooney Mara, especially, stood out. Fincher too deserves accolades for treating the source material with respect, and telling it so fully.

As good as the story and acting were, however, the dialogue wasn’t great. It was made more difficult by the characters’ inconsistent accents. This, coupled with slow pacing, made the movie feel as long as its running time. While I enjoyed the film overall, I found myself looking at my watch towards the end. Despite these, it was a great film to watch.

Rating: 8/10

Posted on March 6, 2012, in Film Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Paragraph Film Reviews

    Liked this, but don’t think it ever lived up to the astounding credits. The whole re-make, still in Sweden, with Swedish actors, all ‘Telking un svee-dish’ really bothered me. I watched the original about a year before and it felt like scene for scene copy.

  2. I think it was too soon, and I think they even shot the Hollywood one in the same location as the Swedish one, so I totally agree with you on that one. Removing my bias for the original though, it was a good movie on its own merits, but yeah, I would still recommend people watch the Swedish trilogy.

    • Paragraph Film Reviews

      I thought that somewhere like Alaska would have been a great, similar setting for an American version – there’s nothing in particular holding the story to Sweden. If you’re going to re-make something, at least try new things!

Leave a Reply

